What is

LIGHT POLLUTION?

 

THE NIGHT IS DISAPPEARING

For most of us, the natural light from the Moon and the stars has long been replaced by the glow of artificial lights. With an ever-growing use of nighttime lighting, often unnecessary and unjustified by actual needs, light pollution and its harmful consequences are increasing across the world.

 

The term light pollution refers to the excessive or inappropriate use of artificial light. Light at night can have many harmful consequences, not only on the visibility of the night sky, but also on wildlife, ecosystems, security and health.

In Canada, over 99% of the population lives in a place where the night sky is affected by light pollution.

 

Of this number, more than three-quarters cannot see the Milky Way and the thousands of stars that are normally visible to the naked eye.

Artificial light is so present in our cities that almost half of Canadians no longer experience dark conditions similar to a true night, completely changing our relationship with the night and that of the species that coexist with us.

MULTIPLE CONSEQUENCES

In addition to affecting the visibility of the starry sky and our window to the Universe, artificial light at night has many adverse effects. Ecosystems, security, economy, health, scientific research, and aesthetics, the impacts of this unnecessary waste are now increasingly understood and well documented.

 

Reducing light pollution is a winning cause on many aspects.

 
Night sky

Astronomers both professional and amateur were the first to notice the effects of light pollution, with the disappearance of the stars. With an increasingly bright sky, the stars, nebulae, and galaxies drown in light and become invisible.

 

Many astronomical observatories are threatened today. The largest observatory in Canada, the David Dunlap Observatory, has even been forced to close its doors in recent years. The excessive glow of the Toronto area made imagery no longer possible there.

Skyglow is mainly caused by artificial light emitted towards the sky and near the horizon. Airborne particles (dust, aerosols, droplets) and gas molecules reflect and scatter light in all directions. Because it is more scattered by the atmosphere, blue light contributes to a greater extent to skyglow than yellow light. This means that white light needs to be avoided for nightly use since it includes all of the colours and is often rich in blue light. 

 

Deprived of the beauty of the starry sky and nocturnal landscapes, city dwellers must travel for hundreds of kilometers outside of urban centres to admire the Milky Way. In major cities around the world, more than 98% of the stars are no longer visible to the naked eye.

Ecosystems

With the global rise of artificial light at night in both intensity and territory, many living species are increasingly affected by light pollution.

 

Some interactions are obvious, such as the fatal attraction of insects to light, resulting in the death of hundreds of insects by night for every streetlight. Other interactions are less visible, but possibly even more severe, such as the changes in the relationships between plants and pollinators or between prey and predators.

 

By changing the apparent length of day and night, artificial light desynchronizes the natural biological rhythms and hours of activity of both diurnal and nocturnal animals. The lunar cycle can become completely invisible and seasonal changes are altered, affecting foraging, reproduction or migration.

The effects of all these distortions have great repercussions on the ecosystems. Today, more and more research is allowing us to better understand the impacts on the environment. Whether it is with sea turtles, birds, insects, plants, fish, or the production of greenhouse gases for electricity, the impact of light pollution is felt in nature. One thing is clear: night is essential to life.

wikipedia/Hila Shaked

Security

Good nighttime lighting makes it possible to see and be seen adequately, ensuring the safety of all those who must live and work at night. However, it is wrong to associate abundant lighting with increased safety or dimmer lighting with danger.

 

Studies have shown, for example, that different strategies to turn off or reduce road lighting had no significant impact on the number of nighttime collisions.


Lighting programs aimed at reducing crime in some major U.S. cities have been harshly criticized in their methodologies and practices. Serious and well-controlled studies have shown that there is no direct link between night lighting and crime.

Artificial lighting can create a false sense of security without actually increasing actual safety. Glare is one of the unfortunate and potentially dangerous consequences of intense or poorly directed light at night. Much like the glare caused by an oncoming vehicle with its high beam headlights, poorly designed lighting reduces visibility and thus increases the risk of accidents.

Human health

Like most life forms on Earth, humans have a circadian cycle. This cycle, which acts like a biological clock, guides a multitude of important processes inside our body. Melatonin, a hormone secreted during the night by a gland located in the brain, is the main director of all this coordination.

Thanks to medical research, we now know that artificial light at night will disrupt the secretion of this hormone, modify the sleep cycle, and negatively influence the immune system. It has also been shown that it is the blue component of light that disrupts the secretion of melatonin.

The World Health Organization officially recognizes that the disruption of the biological clock can lead to many health problems, ranging from insomnia to cancer, depression, diabetes, and obesity.


Therefore, it appears important to reduce the amount of artificial light in our sleeping environment and to limit intrusive light as much as possible to avoid these harmful effects on health. If necessary, use light with a warmer tint in the evening.

AVAILABLE SOLUTIONS

Just as the impacts of light pollution are multiple, the solutions to reduce this nuisance are just as varied.

 

Reducing light pollution is too often wrongly interpreted as eliminating lighting at night, which is in fact very far from reality: reducing light pollution is simply lighting more intelligently and efficiently.

To find out about solutions for reducing light pollution, see our LIGHTING sections:

Qu'est-ce que la

POLLUTION LUMINEUSE ?

 

LA NUIT EN VOIE DE DISPARITION

Pour la majorité d'entre nous, la lumière naturelle de la Lune et des étoiles a depuis longtemps été remplacée par des éclairages artificiels. Avec une utilisation de l'éclairage nocturne toujours plus grande et souvent non justifiée par des besoins réels, la pollution lumineuse et ses conséquences néfastes sont en augmentation à travers le monde.

 

Le terme pollution lumineuse désigne l'utilisation excessive ou inappropriée de la lumière artificielle. La modification de l'environnement lumineux naturel et toutes nuisances provoquées par la lumière artificielle sur la visibilité du ciel, la faune, la flore, les écosystèmes et la santé en sont différentes facettes.

Au Canada, plus de 99% de la population vit dans un endroit où le ciel nocturne est affecté par la pollution lumineuse.

 

De ce nombre, plus des trois quarts ne peuvent apercevoir la Voie lactée et les milliers d'étoiles normalement visibles à l’œil nu.

La lumière artificielle est si présente dans notre environnement nocturne que près de la moitié des Canadiens ne vivent plus aucune adaptation à la noirceur, changeant complètement notre rapport à la nuit et celui des espèces qui cohabitent avec nous.

DES IMPACTS MULTIPLES

En plus d'affecté la visibilité du ciel étoilé et l'accès à ce patrimoine mondial, la lumière artificielle nocturne a de nombreuses conséquences négatives. Écosystèmes, sécurité, économie, santé, recherches scientifiques et esthétisme, les impacts de ce gaspillage inutile sont de mieux en mieux compris et documentés.

 

Réduire la pollution lumineuse est une cause gagnante à tous points de vue.

 
Ciel étoilé

Les astronomes, professionnels et amateurs, ont été les premiers à remarquer les effets de la pollution lumineuse avec la disparition des étoiles. Avec un ciel de moins en moins noir, les étoiles, nébuleuses et galaxies se noient dans la lumière et deviennent invisibles.

 

De nombreux observatoires astronomiques sont aujourd'hui menacés. Le plus grand observatoire en sol canadien, le David Dunlap Observatory, a même été contraint de fermer ses portes. La luminosité excessive du ciel de Toronto lui a été fatale et l'imagerie y est devenue impossible.

Le voilement des étoiles est principalement causé par la lumière artificielle émise vers le ciel et l'horizon. Les particules en suspension (poussières, aérosols, gouttelettes) et les molécules de gaz réfléchissent et diffusent cette lumière. Parce qu'elle est davantage diffusée par l'atmosphère, la lumière bleue contribue à plus forte dose au voilement des étoiles que la lumière jaune.

 

Privés de la beauté du ciel étoilé et des paysages nocturnes, les citadins doivent malheureusement s'éloigner à quelques centaines de kilomètres des centres urbains pour bien percevoir la
 Voie lactée. Dans les grandes villes du monde, c'est plus de 98% des étoiles qui ne sont plus visibles.

Écosystèmes

Avec l'augmentation de la lumière artificielle nocturne et une emprise de plus en plus grande sur la Terre, de nombreuses espèces vivantes sont affectées par la pollution lumineuse.

 

Certaines interactions sont évidentes, comme l'attraction fatale de la lumière pour les insectes qui surchauffent et meurent autour des lampadaires. D'autres sont moins évidentes, mais possiblement beaucoup plus graves, comme les modifications des relations entre plantes et pollinisateurs ou entre proies et prédateurs.

 

En changeant la durée apparente du jour et de la nuit, la lumière artificielle désynchronise les rythmes biologiques naturels et les heures d'activités des animaux. Le cycle lunaire peut devenir complètement invisible et les changements saisonniers sont altérés, affectant la recherche de nourriture, la reproduction ou la migration.

Les effets de toutes ces distorsions se répercutent à travers les écosystèmes et de nombreuses recherches permettent aujourd'hui de mieux comprendre les impacts sur l'environnement. Que ce soit avec les tortues de mer, les oiseaux, les insectes, les plantes, les poissons, ou la production de gaz à effet de serre pour l'électricité, l'impact de la pollution lumineuse se fait sentir dans la nature et une chose est clair : la nuit est essentielle à la vie.

wikipedia/Hila Shaked

Sécurité

Un bon éclairage nocturne permet de bien voir et d’être bien vu, assurant ainsi la sécurité de tous ceux qui doivent vivre et travailler la nuit. Par contre, il est erroné d’associer un éclairage intense à plus de sécurité ou un éclairage plus faible au danger.
 

Des études ont démontré, par exemple, que différentes stratégies d'extinction ou de réduction de l'éclairage routier n'avaient pas d'effet significatif sur le nombre de collisions nocturnes.


Des programmes d'éclairage visant à réduire la criminalité dans certaines grandes villes américaines ont été durement critiqués dans leurs méthodologies et leurs pratiques. Des études sérieuses et bien contrôlées ont, quant à elles, démontrés qu'il n'existe pas de lien direct entre l’éclairage nocturne et la criminalité.

L’éclairage artificiel peut contribuer à créer un faux sentiment de sécurité sans accroître réellement la sécurité. L'éblouissement est l'une des conséquences fâcheuses d'un éclairage intense, non uniforme ou mal dirigé. Tout comme l'éblouissement causé par un véhicule circulant en sens inverse avec ses phares de route ("hautes"), les systèmes d’éclairage mal conçus diminuent la visibilité et augmentent ainsi les risques d’accident.

Santé humaine

Comme la plupart des formes de vie sur Terre, les humains possèdent un cycle circadien. Ce cycle, qui agit comme une horloge biologique, guide une multitude de processus importants à l'intérieur de notre corps. C'est la mélatonine, une hormone sécrétée durant la nuit par une glande située au niveau du cerveau, qui est le chef d'orchestre cette coordination.

Grâce à la recherche médicale, nous savons aujourd'hui que la lumière artificielle nocturne va dérégler la sécrétion de cette hormone et modifier le cycle du sommeil et influencer négativement le système immunitaire. Il a aussi été démontré que c'est la composante bleue de la lumière qui perturbe la sécrétion de la mélatonine

L'Organisation Mondiale de la Santé reconnaît officiellement que le dérèglement de l'horloge biologique peut entraîner de nombreux problèmes de santé, allant de l'insomnie au cancer en passant par la dépression, le diabète et l'obésité.

 
Il apparait donc important de réduire au maximum la quantité de lumière dans notre environnement de sommeil et de limiter le plus possible la lumière intrusive pour éviter ces effets néfastes pour la santé. Au besoin, il faut privilégier l'usage de lumière ayant une teinte plus jaune en soirée.

DES SOLUTIONS DISPONIBLES

Tout comme les impacts de la pollution lumineuse sont multiples et touchent différentes facettes, les solutions pour réduire cette nuisance sont tout aussi variées.

 

Réduire la pollution lumineuse est trop souvent interprétée comme cesser de s'éclairer la nuit, ce qui est en fait très loin de la réalité : diminuer la pollution lumineuse c'est tout simplement mieux éclairer.

Pour connaître les solutions permettant de réduire la pollution lumineuse, consultez nos sections "MIEUX ÉCLAIRER" :

© 2020 Réserve internationale de ciel étoilé du Mont-Mégantic

PARTENAIRES :

  • Gris Twitter Icon