OUR PROJECTS

and achievements

The Mont-Mégantic International Dark Sky Reserve team and its many partners are constantly working to preserve the nighttime environment, monitor the quality of the night sky, promote the use of appropriate lighting and raise awareness among the population on the negative impacts of light pollution.

ANNUAL REPORTS

A lot of information about our team's actions can be found in our annual report prepared for the 

International Dark-Sky Association (IDA).

Follow all the developments related to the Mont-Mégantic International Dark Sky Reserve within these documents.

2021

2020

2019

2018

2017

2016

You will also find more information on some recent or current projects:

DJI_0608-BoulBourque_Pano-Ouest_RICEMM.jpg

In collaboration with the city of Sherbrooke and Commerce Sherbrooke, the «Objectif Ciel Étoilé» (Objective Starry Sky) project aims to make Boulevard Bourque into the first commercial area in Quebec to conciliate the needs of enterprises and the preservation of the night sky.

IMG_2230_edited.jpg

Since 2016, scientific instruments placed at the summit of mount Mégantic have been observing the changes in the night-sky luminosity. These tools allow us to keep watch on the quality of the starry sky in the core of the Reserve. In order to better follow the evolution of light pollution, measurements are now also taken from the city of Sherbrooke.

JRO_6136_VoieLactee_JohanneRoby-RemiBoucher.jpg

To bring the night sky in the heart of the city of Sherbrooke and enable its citizens to see the Milky Way again; that is the main objective of the team behind the creation of an oasis of starry sky on mount Bellevue.

Find out more ➤

NOS PROJETS 

et réalisations

L'équipe de la Réserve internationale de ciel étoilé du Mont-Mégantic et ses nombreux partenaires sont continuellement à l’œuvre pour préserver l'environnement nocturne, assurer une suivi de la qualité du ciel, favoriser l'utilisation de bons éclairages et sensibiliser la population sur les impacts néfastes de la pollution lumineuse.

RAPPORTS ANNUELS

Une foule d'information sur les actions de notre équipe se trouve à l'intérieur de notre rapport annuel destiné à l'International Dark Sky Association (IDA).

Suivez tous les développements en lien avec la Réserve internationale de ciel étoilé à l'intérieur de ces ouvrages.

2021

2020

2019

2018

2017

2016

Vous trouverez plus d'information sur certains projets récents ou présentement en cours :

DJI_0608-BoulBourque_Pano-Ouest_RICEMM.jpg

En collaboration avec la ville de Sherbrooke et Commerce Sherbrooke, le projet-pilote "Objectif ciel étoilé" vise à faire du boulevard Bourque la première artère commerciale au Québec qui allie les besoins d'éclairage des entreprises et la préservation du ciel étoilé.

IMG_2230_edited.jpg

Depuis 2016, des instruments de mesures installés au sommet du mont Mégantic suivent l'évolution de la luminosité du ciel nocturne. Ces outils nous permettent de garder un oeil sur la qualité du ciel étoilé depuis le coeur de la Réserve. Afin de mieux suivre l'évolution de la pollution lumineuse, des mesures sont aussi prises depuis la ville de Sherbrooke.

JRO_6136_VoieLactee_JohanneRoby-RemiBoucher.jpg

Rétablir la visibilité du ciel étoilé au sein de la ville de Sherbrooke et permettre à ses citoyens d'y voir la Voie lactée. C'est l'objectif principal que s'est donné l'équipe derrière le projet de création d'un lieu urbain de ciel étoilé.

En savoir plus ➤