A Reserve to

PROTECT THE NIGHT SKY

DARK SKY PLACE

OF THE YEAR 2021

IDA-Logo-Simple-Mark.png
 

A WORLD FIRST

Continuing the efforts of numerous initiatives to fight light pollution and protect the nighttime environment, the Mont Mégantic region became the very first International Dark Sky Reserve certified by the International Dark-Sky Association (IDA) in 2007.

Centered on the Mont-Mégantic National Park and Observatory, the Mont-Mégantic International Dark Sky Reserve (MMIDSR) currently measures about ​​5,300 square kilometres. In order to include the main sources of light pollution from the surrounding area, the MMIDRS territory covers an area of approximately 50 km of radius around Mont Mégantic.

 

This includes the 14 municipalities of the Haut-Saint-François RCM to the west and 19 municipalities of the Granit RCM to the east. Located 60 km to the west, the city ​​of Sherbrooke is also part of the Dark Sky Reserve and is a very important partner.

The process leading to the designation of the International Dark Sky Reserve has contributed to the development of strong regional expertise in outdoor lighting management. The implementation of regulations for outdoor lighting and the involvement of the 34 municipalities of the Reserve strongly contributed to the adequate control and reduction of light pollution, which had greatly increased in previous decades. Thanks to the initial conversion of thousands of luminaires, light pollution at the core of the Reserve has been reduced by more than a third while saving nearly 2 gigawatt-hour of electricity per year for the region.

Following the creation of the Mont-Mégantic IDSR, new International Dark Sky Reserves certified by IDA have been created around the world. In addition, many cities and parks have followed the pioneering city of Flagstaff in Arizona and the Natural Bridges National Monument in Utah and are now part of the Dark Sky movement.

WHAT IS AN IDSR ?

IDA-Logo-Simple-Mark.png

According to the definition given by the International Dark-Sky Association (IDA), an International Dark Sky Reserve (IDSR) is a large public or private land possessing a starry sky of exceptional quality and nocturnal environment which is subject to protection for scientific, educational, cultural or natural enjoyment.

 

The reserve consist of a core area where the dark sky is preserved, and a peripheral area where public administrators, individuals, and businesses recognize the importance of natural darkness preservation and are committed to protecting it in the long term. The IDA also defines communitiesparks, sanctuaries as well as urban dark sky places.

INTERNATIONAL DARK SKY RESERVE

PERIPHERAL AREA

CORE AREA

In the past, some regions around the world established their own certification as "Dark Sky Reserves" since there was no universal official standard based on specific criteria. In fact, before 2006, the Royal Astronomical Society of Canada (RASC) was the only organization that had a recognition program in place to acknowledge communities' efforts to reduce light pollution.

 

Concerned that this would affect the credibility of a real worldwide dark sky protection plan, the IDA put together a working committee to define and oversee "International Dark Sky Reserves", "International Dark Sky Parks" and "International Dark Sky Communities". The Mont-Mégantic region served as a model for elaborating minimum criteria to be met in order to be certified.

We can only rejoice at the growing number of certified dark sky protection locations around the world.

 
2013-01-30 Montage_Cartes_zones-small_we

Lac-Mégantic

Sherbrooke

Montréal

RICEMM_limites_web.png
OMM.png

Mont Mégantic

Québec

History

1978/

Astronomical observations on Mont Mégantic

As research, education, and tourism activities in the Mont Mégantic region are based on astronomical observation, the protection of the dark sky is of crucial importance. Unfortunately, the distance from urban centres does not guarantee dark skies by itself and light pollution at the Mont-Mégantic Observatory (OMM) had more than doubled during its first twenty years of operation.

 

With its constant growth, light pollution risked compromising the scientific usefulness and the vocation of OMM in the medium term. It then became imperative to curb the growth of light pollution and reduce its impacts.

1998/

Invading light

It was at the end of the 90s that the fight against light pollution really began. The OMM was then in the process of renewing its research equipment and wanted to preserve its deep sky observation capacity.

Preliminary analyzes were made to determine the approximate contributions to sky glow:

  • 50% from municipalities located within a 25km radius

  • 25% from the city of Sherbrooke

  • 25% from other light sources located more than 25km

Despite their small size, the nearby municipalities contribute a significant portion of the light pollution above the observatory since light intensity is greatly correlated with distance. Therefore, these municipalities were priority targets in reducing light pollution around the Mont-Mégantic National Park.

2002/

Starting a project to protect the stars

In 2002, the ASTROLab's president and the directors of the Mont-Mégantic National Park and the MMO jointly defined the guidelines of the light pollution reduction project.

 

By considering everyone's needs and in a spirit of regional collaboration, the objectives necessary for the creation of an International Dark Sky Reserve were agreed and set. Ultimately, the project would allow the preservation of the scientific research capacity and the astro-tourism potential of Mont Mégantic.

 

To do this, the action plan targeted three main areas of intervention:

  1. AWARENESS, to educate about the issues and solutions;

  2. REGULATION, to ensure long-term preservation;

  3. CONVERSION and retrofit of light fixtures, to reduce light pollution.

2005/

Regulations and conversions

One after another, the Granit RCM, the Haut-Saint-François RCM, and the city of Sherbrooke adopted regulations to limit light pollution and protect the starry sky with the installation of suitable outdoor lighting.

Following the adoption of the first regulations, a major phase of conversion of public and private lighting was undertaken in the municipalities located near Mont Mégantic. Together, municipalities, businesses, and citizens participated in the reduction of light pollution.

2007/

Designation of the world's first

International Dark Sky Reserve

Work carried out in this initial light pollution abatement project made it possible to convert more than 3,300 luminaires in a total of 17 municipalities. This project alone is saving more than 1,700,000 kWh per year of energy, or approximately $200,000 of electricity, for the entire region.

 

The results obtained to date are indisputable: with a reduction of over 35% in light pollution, the region has truly regained its stars!
 

On September 21, 2007, it was with great pride that the Mont Mégantic region was officially recognized by IDA as the world's first International Dark Sky Reserve!

 
omm_old_webS.jpg
La_Patrie_avant_webS.jpg
OMM_Pollution_Lumineuse_startrail_Guilla

Une Réserve pour

PROTÉGER LE CIEL ÉTOILÉ

 

UNE PREMIÈRE MONDIALE

Poursuivant les différents efforts à travers le monde pour lutter contre la pollution lumineuse et protéger l'intégrité nocturne, la région entourant le mont Mégantic est devenue en 2007 la toute première Réserve internationale de ciel étoilé certifiée par l'International Dark-Sky Association (IDA).

Centrée sur le parc national et l'Observatoire du Mont-Mégantic, la Réserve internationale de ciel étoilé du Mont-Mégantic (RICEMM) s'étend actuellement sur une superficie totalisant près de 5300 kilomètres carrés. Afin d'inclure les principales sources de pollution lumineuse des environs, le territoire de la RICEMM couvre une grande zone d'un rayon approximatif de 50 km autour du mont Mégantic.

 

On y retrouve ainsi les 14 municipalités de la MRC du Haut-Saint-François à l'ouest et 19 municipalités de la MRC du Granit à l'est. Située à 60 km à l'ouest, la ville de Sherbrooke fait aussi partie de la réserve de ciel étoilé et en est un partenaire très important. 

Le processus ayant mené à la désignation de Réserve internationale de ciel étoilé IDA a contribué au développement d'une expertise régionale en gestion de l'éclairage extérieur. La participation des 34 municipalités de la Réserve et à la mise en place de règlements sur l’éclairage extérieur ont contribué au contrôle et à la diminution de la pollution lumineuse, qui avait grandement augmenté au cours des décennies précédentes. Grâce à la conversion initiale de milliers de luminaires, la pollution lumineuse au cœur de la Réserve a été réduite de plus du tiers, tout en permettant à la région d'économiser près de 2 gigawattheure d'électricité par année.

Suite à la création de la RICE du mont-Mégantic, de nouvelles réserves internationales certifiées par l'IDA ont vu le jour à travers le monde. De plus, de nombreuses villes et parcs ont suivi l'exemple des pionniers que sont la ville de Flagstaff en Arizona et le monument national Natural Bridges en Utah.

QU'EST-CE QU'UNE RICE ?

IDA-Logo-Simple-Mark.png

Selon la définition qu’en donne l’International Dark-Sky Association (IDA), une réserve internationale de ciel étoilé (RICE) est un espace public ou privé de grande étendue jouissant d’un ciel étoilé d’une qualité exceptionnelle et qui fait l’objet d’une protection à des fins scientifiques, éducatives, culturelles ou dans un but de préservation de la nature.

 

La réserve doit comprendre une zone centrale où la noirceur naturelle est préservée au maximum ainsi qu'une région périphérique où les administrateurs publics, les individus et les entreprises reconnaissent l’importance du ciel étoilé et s’engagent à le protéger à long terme. L’IDA définit également des communautés, des parcs, des sanctuaires ainsi que des lieux urbains de ciel étoilé.

RÉSERVE INTERNATIONALE DE CIEL ÉTOILÉ

ZONE PÉRIPHÉRIQUE

ZONE CŒUR

Dans le passé, certaines régions à travers le monde se sont elles-mêmes qualifiées de « Réserve de ciel étoilé » car aucun organisme n’était encore en mesure d’émettre une reconnaissance internationale basée sur des critères précis. Avant 2006, seule la Société Royale d’astronomie du Canada (SRAC) avait mis en place un programme de reconnaissance visant à souligner les efforts des communautés pour limiter la pollution lumineuse.

 

Craignant que ceci n’affecte la crédibilité d’un véritable plan de protection du ciel étoilé, l’IDA a mis sur pied un comité de travail pour définir et encadrer les « Réserves internationales de ciel étoilé », les « Parcs internationaux de ciel étoilé » ainsi que les « Communautés internationales de ciel étoilé ». La région du mont Mégantic a servi de modèle pour l’élaboration des critères à remplir pour l’obtention de ces dénominations.

On ne peut que se réjouir du nombre grandissant d'endroits de protection du ciel étoilé certifiés à travers le monde.

 
2013-01-30 Montage_Cartes_zones-small_we

Lac-Mégantic

Sherbrooke

Montréal

RICEMM_limites_web.png
OMM.png

Mont Mégantic

Québec

Historique

1978/

Observations astronomiques au mont Mégantic

Comme les activités de recherche, d'éducation et de tourisme de la région du mont Mégantic reposent sur l'observation astronomique, la protection du ciel étoilé y revêt une importance cruciale. L'éloignement géographique ne la garantie malheureusement pas et la pollution lumineuse à l'Observatoire du Mont-Mégantic (OMM) avait plus que doublé durant sa première vingtaine d'années d'opération.

 

En croissance constante, la pollution lumineuse risquait de compromettre à moyen terme la rentabilité scientifique et la vocation de l'OMM. Il était alors devenu impératif d'arrêter la croissance et de réduire la pollution lumineuse.

1998/

Une lumière envahissante

C’est à la fin des années 1990 que la lutte contre la pollution lumineuse a véritablement commencé. L’OMM était alors en pleine démarche de mise à jour et de renouvellement de ses équipements et souhaitait préserver sa capacité d’observation.

 

Des analyses préliminaires ont alors permis de déterminer les contributions lumineuses environnantes :

  • 50% pour les municipalités situées à l'intérieur d'un rayon de 25km

  • 25% pour la ville de Sherbrooke

  • 25% pour les autre sources lumineuses se trouvant à plus de 25km

Malgré leur petite taille, les municipalités en périphérie contribuent significativement à la pollution lumineuse enregistrée à l'observatoire car l'éclairement décroît grandement en fonction de la distance. Ces municipalités constituaient donc des cibles prioritaires dans la réduction de la pollution lumineuse autour du parc national du Mont-Mégantic.

2002/

Début d'un projet pour le ciel étoilé

En 2002, le président de l’ASTROLab et les directeurs du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic et de l’OMM ont défini ensemble les grandes lignes d’un projet visant à réduire significativement la pollution lumineuse dans la région.

 

En considérant les besoins de tous et chacun et dans un esprit de solidarité régionale, les objectifs nécessaires à la création d'une réserve internationale de ciel étoilé ont été fixés. À terme, le projet devait permettre la préservation de la capacité de recherche scientifique et le potentiel récréotouristique de l'astronomie au mont Mégantic.

 

Pour ce faire, le plan d'action visait trois axes d'intervention principaux :

  1. la SENSIBILISATION, pour faire connaître les enjeux et les solutions;

  2. la RÉGLEMENTATION, pour permettre un préservation à long terme;

  3. la CONVERSION de luminaires, pour diminuer la pollution lumineuse.

2005/

Réglementations et conversions

Une après l'autre, la MRC du Granit, la MRC du Haut-Saint-François et la Ville de Sherbrooke ont adoptées des réglementations pour protéger le ciel étoilé tout en favorisant la mise en place d'éclairages de qualité.

Suite a l'adoption des premiers règlements, une grande phase de conversion de luminaires publics et privés a été entreprise dans les municipalités situées à proximité du mont Mégantic. Ainsi, municipalités, entreprises et citoyens participaient à la réduction de la pollution lumineuse.

2007/

Naissance de la première

Réserve internationale de ciel étoilé

Les travaux accomplis dans le Projet initial de lutte contre la pollution lumineuse ont permis de convertir plus de 3 300 luminaires dans 17 municipalités. Ce projet a permis de faire économiser plus de 1 700 000 kWh/année d'énergie, ou environ 200 000$ d'électricité, à toute la région.

 

Les résultats obtenus à ce jour sont incontestables : avec une réduction de plus de 35% de la pollution lumineuse, la région a véritablement retrouvé ses étoiles!
 
Le 21 septembre 2007, c'est avec une grande fierté que la région du mont Mégantic a été officiellement reconnue par l’IDA en tant que Réserve internationale de ciel étoilé, la première au monde!